SPF: Dilemma Continues

I have written posts on SPF before (here & here) and here I am writing one more!

So the changes in my current environment have made me reconsider my SPF game.

In Hong Kong I basically fled from the sun. It’s hot, humid and sweaty and an air-conditioned interior was my habitat of choice.

As and when (and IF) I ventured outside into the humid soup an SPF, used over my moisturiser, was what worked.  Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence Sunscreen SPF50+ PA+++ was my go to as it light weight & mattifying.imgp3436

But here in the Pacific Northwest when the sun is out, it’s gorgeous …and it’s dry. I love being outdoors. Also as I am not planning to invest in a car just as yet I spend a lot of time walking around running errands  (2.5 miles to my nearest supermarket)

So investing in two separate moisturisers, one with SPF and one without SPF is not as wasteful as it would be in Hong Kong.

What I want is good hydration (along with anti-aging if possible) and an SPF of 50(PA ++++ would be an added bonus)

Unfortunately the shelves are not exactly falling over with the weight of good SPF 50 moisturisers.

My shortlist below seem to be good for dry skin and wont deliver a white cast on my NC40 skin tone.(each item listed below is linked to it’s respective review by Beautypedia).

SPF 50. 1 fl.oz. $50:Estee Lauder Crescent White Full Cycle Brightening UV Protector. The most expensive of the lot. The write up is great and Estee Lauder always kill in the skincare category given the sheer amount of cash they have to spend on research.

Will this be a birthday present ? Oysters and Champagne in Capitol Hill versus this ? Ooo it’s hard.

You know what till I am not working I must be sensible. 😦 Especially when a perfectly acceptable Clinique is available!

SPF 50. 1.7 fl.oz. $21.5Clinique Sun Broad Spectrum Sunscreen Face Cream. A no brainer given the cost! It contains a wide range of antioxidants and cell-communicating ingredients what’s more to discuss ?

SPF 40. 2 fl. oz. $30.: First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Pure Mineral Sunscreen Moisturizer Broad SpectrumFAB has some good solid products and I like investing in them just because they do such a good job. It’s a great price point and the SPF 50-40, no biggie.

Hmm now I want both Clinique and FAB. But that would be just wasteful especially as a good non SPF, anti aging moisturiser would also be gracing my vanity.

How many bottles do I need cluttering up my vanity? It’s already one too many.

SPF 47. 2 fl. oz. $32.: Josie Maran Cosmetics Argan Daily Moisturizer w/ Sunboost ATB. I have never tried a Josie Maran product though people rave about her line. The write up is good but it doesn’t attract me, so pass.

Next time I am in Redmond I will dive into the Macys there and pick myself the Clinique. Done! Decision made.

Now below are some I found promising for those with Normal to Oily and Combination skin.

50+PA+++.  1.7 fl.oz

$48, Kate Somerville Daily Deflector Waterlight Broad Spectrum . I have used this and I really loved it. The white cast didn’t seem to bother me that much and it felt moisturising enough for the humid Hong Kong summers.

$42, Exuviance Sheer Daily Protector Sunscreen Broad Spectrum. This has a really good write-up but where do you buy it from?

SPF 50. 1.7 fl.oz

$26, Olay Regenerist Regenerating Lotion with Sunscreen Broad Spectrum. Great review and affordable ! yaaay.

$34, SkinCeuticals Physical Fusion UV Defense. This one I would pass on, especially when you have the Olay. What bothers me about this one is the ‘con’ stated in the review. It states it lacks ‘antioxidants to boost skin’s environmental defenses’. Why bother ?

NB: this in no way replaces my Holy Grail Shiseido Wet Force when exercising. There is no other technology like this one in the market I believe!

I hope this is the end of SPF obsession…no more posts.

