1 Banana Pancake

We are a household of 2, not counting the cat.  And thus I often end up with one lonely yellow, spotted banana.

( Who would want to count this ugly cat ? Look at that face. Stuff of nightmares!)Zeb

Back to the banana. It’s always perfectly ripe for baking but here is the dilemma. Try locating a recipe that uses 1, only 1, banana. At the minimum it’s 2. And then add to that something that uses 1 banana, and NO wheat.

Finally I found one. Mix one mashed banana well with 1 egg. Heat a frying pan with some butter, spoon the batter in. Cook like you would a pancake.20160713_110902

In my head I imagined something like the Bengali desert Malpua (The batter for malpua is prepared by crushing ripe bananas, adding flour and water. The mixture is sometimes delicately seasoned with cardamoms. It is deep fried in oil, and served hot.)

Hmmm yum and a perfect option for a carb free breakfast.

Not.

It could be me but it tastes just like..Egg…and Banana.20160713_111914

I also decided to spread some St Dalfour (no added sugar) Cherry Jam 20160713_111951

But then it tasted like Egg.Banana.Jam

At a pinch its not bad but not the answer I am looking for.

The quest for what to do with one spotty banana continues.

 

2 thoughts on “1 Banana Pancake

Comments are closed.