Eye Masks: Dr. Morita, Color Combos & Faith in Face

Kate Hudson and co. claim to do an ice compress first thing after they wake up. That gets rid of puffiness to give that wide awake look.

However I don’t have hand maidens waiting with a cup of tea and an ice pack so I do the next best thing. Buy eye masks, keep them in the fridge and paste on a pair as I make my morning cup of tea.

A practice that leads me to yet another quest, this time for the perfect eye mask. Something that will combat puffiness and make my eyes look fresh.

As Hongkies we are lucky because Sasa, Watson’s and Mannings are nearly wall-to-wall masks. All manner of Taiwanese, Korean & Japanese masks , but the challenge for me to is find one without alcohol. 

After walking around the stores, checking the ingredients with a magnifying glass (my eyes need all the help they can get) I locked down 3 brands without alcohol.

Faith in Face Eye Am Not Tired: I bought these from Mannings, a set of 4 for HKD 59.90, so not cheap. I kept them in the fridge and used them everyday. (for 4 days!)

Hygienic, easy to use packs containing lovely hydrogel mask that feel oh so cool first thing in the morning. Placebo effect or not, I did feel instantly awake and less puffy. But alas I will not re-purchase 😦  WHY ?

EANT COMBINE-500x500
http://www.faithinface.com.hk/index.php?route=product/product&path=60_73&product_id=59

See the 5th ingredient there ? Grapefruit extract ? Thats the problem! Paraphrasing Paula Begoun/Beautypedia Citrus Paradisi Fruit Extract can cause a phototoxic reaction to leave skin discolored. Beware if listed middle of an ingredient list.

FaithinFace EYEThat’s the last thing one wants near one’s eyes! So Bye Bye, Eye…I am not Tired.

Lower down the list it does list Euphrasia Officinalis Extract which is a topical treatment for under-eye puffiness and dark circles. And it counteracts inflammation and reduces mucous drainage. 

DAMN you Grapefruit Extract !!!!!!

Colour Combos Q10 Lifting Eye MaskQ10Q10eyeThese are cotton sheets and come in packs of 10. Not too wet and stick well to the under -eye area.

This contains Hamamelis Virginia Leaf Extract (witch hazel which  means alcohol is added  during extraction ).

It also contains Q10 (Ubiquinone), last on the list. This ingredient is all manner of good for ageing skin and skin in general. However I can not get past the Witch Hazel on my delicate under eye area.

This I will NOT re-purchase because of this Witch Hazel. That is if I can get past the awful packaging!

Q10ingredientsThe packaging, while environmentally ‘friendlier’ , is a pain to use. All the masks stick together, your fingers contaminate all the packs are you are trying to pry singles off & by mistake I ended up using two for one eye because they stuck together so fast!

Dr Morita (Watsons and Sasa): This is a Taiwanese brand. A local HK girl told me that the latest rage in HK are Taiwanese face masks and every time they travel to Taiwan they buy bag loads. Anyway here these eye masks retail for HKD 39 each. Each box contains between 5-8 packs. I bought the Q10 (wonder ingredient) and Anti Wrinkle.

Yeah whatever I know.  Nothing rivals a surgeon’s scalpel, good sleep and a healthy lifestyle, but hydration and the TLC of a mask is always a feel good, right ?IMGP2892Each pair comes in an individual sachet and separate backing for each eye (landfill alert) but I prefer it to all the masks stuck together in a higgledy-piggledy mess like the Color Combos pack.IMGP28932016-07-10 12.24.49The Q10 sheets are cotton but almost transparent. Each pack contains a lot of serum and feel very wet. But not drippy wet.

The Anti Line Anti Wrinkle masks are rather odd shaped and took me a while to work out. Basically each piece lies under your eyes and then extends to either side of your nose (along the dreaded laugh lines)IMGP2894

Since the instructions are NOT in English I had to search helpful reviews written by Singaporean and Malaysians to figure out how long. 10-15 mins, everyday use, I believe.IMGP2896The ingredients are good and hydrating but I would use it every other day.

Look a good eye cream and an ice compress can do just as well, but let’s face it for the lazy slapping on a cool eye mask from the fridge is easiest. Though given the ‘landfill’ factor of packaging I probably wouldn’t do it too frequently.20160710_10372120160710_103738

I have see another brand of eye masks at Sweetmay Hong Kong- Sweetmay carries Korean brands.

(Sneak Peek:20160704_15110620160704_151159) I am currently researching it’s ingredient list and  if they get an all clear, I will buy it once the Dr. Moritas are over.

My verdict ? Unfortunately the Faith in Face Eye I am not Tired felt the best. Maybe the hydrogel mask format retains the cool from the refrigerator better and longer working to give that slight compression under the eye. But alas the Grapefruit extract 😦

