Aging Like Fine Whine ? CE Ferrlic.

This was the title of an article in the Huffington Post. Well it was “Are You Aging Like Fine Whine” and I, involuntarily, went “YES”

That’s me. Whine.

I don’t like the lines, the bags, the sag, the greys, the spots and the pores. All of which seem to leap out and punch me in the face, especially when I am in an elevator with overhead lighting.  It looks like a  melting Daliesque face.

So obviously all my skincare is targeted to Anti Aging.

Now if you read/watch blogs/vlogs you will know that Anti Aging is not a bad thing, and one is supposed to start 30 onwards.

I was a little late to the Anti Aging Party but here I am, and with a vengeance.

If it’s not anti aging its not sitting on my vanity (NB: Hydrating formulas are a must even if they don’t say ‘Anti Aging’. As you mature your skin gets drier)

So when I heard about this Anti Aging Anti Oxidant superstar I grabbed it. Skinceuticals CE Ferrulic. It was referred by Gothamista in her Morning Skincare Routine video.

Caroline Hirons is still tops my ‘my crushes on Youtube list’ but Renee from Gothamista is on that list too. Her knowledge of skincare is as strong but she is not as anti alcohol or mineral oil as Caroline is. Which is good, Pros and Cons, right ?

Anyway what is CE Ferrulic? Skinceuticals CE Ferrulic is a synergistic antioxidant combination of 15% pure vitamin C (l-ascorbic acid), 1% vitamin E (alpha tocopherol), and 0.5% ferulic acid to strengthen skin’s natural protection from free radicals induced by environmental stressors such as UVA/UVB, infrared radiation (IRA), and pollution, which may lead to visible signs of accelerated skin aging. In addition to antioxidant protective benefits, C E Ferulic improves signs of aging and photodamage, the appearance of lines and wrinkles, and the loss of firmness, while brightening skin’s complexion.

 

IMGP2670This is a serum so I use is after my Hydrating toner in the morning.

I have been using this for a month now, on the off. While I don’t see any difference in my skin*,I know it’s more what it does inside rather than a topical glow/plumping. It’s a daily dose of vitamin for the skin. (*My skin is normal, maturing and basically trouble free)

IMGP2672

IMGP2673

I do what they say, 4-5 drops, smoothed over the face and then patted/pressed in. It gets pretty tacky so I stop messing with it and let it sink in.

It’s a viscous orange liquid that smells smokey. Sometimes like a mild tuna salad (what??!!)  I am sensitive to frangrance/smells, but this one disappears in a jiffy.

I store it in the dark. Actually all my makeup and skincare is away from light. And sometimes even in the fridge, if I dont use something that often.

It’s pricey and needs to be used in 3 months (I read that on Beautypedia).

3-4 mins later, I apply a hydrating moisturiser over it.

I received a free sample of the  Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel so that is what I apply over it for now. The texture of the B5 is also different to other moisturisers out there, ie none of that silky-smooth siliconey feeling.  Which I like.

However, while I know the CE Ferrulic will be my Holy Grail re-purchase the B5 I have been flip-flopping over.  It’s the Beautypedia review of the B5 that has curbed my urge to run to Lane Crawford to buy a full size.

I will probably go for another hydrating moisturiser and not the B5. (Hada Labo maybe ?)

 CE Ferrulic, I love you. Thank you for coming into my life and depleting my wallet. All for a good cause!

 

 

 

 

