‘Makeup Diet’ Resolutions

I don’t make New Year resolutions, because resolutions can be made at any time. Have a Goal and a  how to get there.

My exercise ‘resolutions’ I almost always keep, albeit some take longer to achieve.

The ‘I will wake up at 6 and exercise before work’ took me 10 years to get to but I finally did.

The ‘work out for 60 mins each time‘ took me 6 months. So not ground breaking achievements, but I didn’t give up and remembered my ultimate goal every time I failed.

The ‘give up added sugar‘ resolution on the other hand, I am still working on. 10 years and counting.

But my 2015 ‘don’t buy Makeup or skincare till you use up what you have’ I have been successful (ish) for 6 months now. ‘Ish’ if you count my purchase of the YSL Lip Oil in Dec 2015. 😦

I obsessively research everything. But this research also leads to purchasing the ‘whatever is better than what I have right now‘. Greed I say!

I have only 1, rather small, face. Products take ages to get over. Boringly so coupled with the fact I don’t throw makeup till it smells, looks or acts weird. Yes sorry, but it hasn’t done my skin any damage for the past 20 years and maybe because I have normal, blemish free skin.

Boredom makes me buy new stuff and I am trying to resolutely conquer that boredom.

Now I research, make notes and hold off purchase.

And a few things happen. I either lose interest in that particular thing OR something better comes out or better still, realise I don’t actually need it!

But before I adjust the halo on my head a word (few words)

Potential Red Flags of Failure. Hourglass, Laura Mercier, Christian Louboutin, Tata Harper & SASA Hong Kong

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit. I own NONE of the Hourglass Ambient Lighting powders and its FINALLY come to HK. Here I might stumble. Why ? because the Mac Definitely Defined highlighter I have, I am not happy with. Also I am looking for GLOW and not highlight. available only via Net-a-porter

Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder. I don’t own any translucent setting powder. My Bobbi Brown Warm Natural pressed setting powder does a great job but sometimes I feel it makes me too matte and can be a tad pale for my skin-tone.

Christian Louboutin Bengali Lipstick I am Bengali and I MUST have it. Not available in HK and I haven’t found it on any company shipping to HK

Tata Harper Resurfacing Mask I own too many masks but I am waiting for the WOW. Maybe Tata Harper will be the one?  available only via Net-a-porter

Sasa Miscellaneous Look I have managed to enter Sasa for the past 6 months and come out without a purchase. But the YSL Tinted Lip Oil has really got me into Lip Oils. And I hate it when my lip makeup clings on flakes and dry patches.So I thought I would give the myriad Korean and Japanese lip essences/oils a go.

If they turn out to be nothing but the usual ho-hum lip balm then, beware Wallet, the Clarins Instant Light Lip Comfort Oil might hit you.

 

