Face Mask Smack Down

IMGP2562

Face Masks are insanely difficult to review and I believe, need a good few months of dedicated use to really know if it works or not. Who knows whether after a few months the verdict in this post might change ?

I do know that I watched an interview with Ruby Hammer (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ruby_Hammer) and she is 50 something and said she uses a face mask everyday.

So off I went to stock up on my face masks. My skin is basically hassle free, but have maturing and dehydrated (as opposed to Dry) skin. It doesn’t have any glaring issues that need clearing up, EXCEPT the blackheads around my nose. Grrr.

Instant clearing up – Biore strips, but I haven’t used a strip in ages. I do think a combination of the Origins Clear Improvement and Soap and Glory Scrub your Nose in it might have something to do with it.  I mainly apply them on my Tzone.

It doesn’t vacuum the pores instantly, but over a few weeks it seems to clear them a bit.

I don’t know why I went nuts and bought 2 Peter Thomas Roth when the Cucumber would have sufficed. I don’t see any big difference in their use.

The Cucumber one, when kept in the fridge, also can be applied under eyes to reduce puffiness. I keep both in the fridge and often when I make my morning tea, I apply the Cucumber under the eyes and the Rose over the rest of my face. Nothing spectacular happening. I think I can see the puffiness reduced. The Rose ? Cant see anything happening.

The Clinique hydrating mask is literally, Nothing. Don’t bother.

The Origins Drink Up intensive is similar in the fact that they are hydrating . They are not so much MASKs as much as ‘apply a thick layer’ and tissue off excess. I prefer the Origins one.

The much hyped Charlotte Tilbury Goddess Clay mask. I haven’t seen a huge difference once I wash it off, so I will pass on the re-purchase.

https://zoorkitty.wordpress.com/2015/09/28/charlotte-tilbury-worth-the-hype/

The Nuxe Clarifying clay mask I have raved about. But how odd is this? The mask I am happiest about is the one that is a sample !

I will invest in a full size once I am done with my myriad other masks.

Now for the  Bliss Multi-face-ted anti aging mask.  An Anti Aging face mask is definitely a category I want to invest in. But HELLO !

The first time I applied it, it frikking STUNG my face. Stinging of a thousand bees. I put it on after double cleansing my face ( cleansing gels etc)

When I removed it after 2 mins, instead of the 5-7 they recommend, I was bracing myself for an angry breakout. But nothing. NO reaction other than that crazy stinging. Not even after a few days.

So after a few weeks when I used it, I cleaned my face with just water (it was a weekend so no makeup anyway), and applied it only on my Tzone.  It stung a wee bit.

The next time I applied it, it was for the full 5 mins, all over my face. A wee bit of sting. Few pin pricks here and there.

No instant effect with this one, but I am guessing this needs pretty regular use to see an effect. So far meh!

It has quartz granules that feels too rough on my skin and is a NIGHTMARE to wash off. I use my environmentally friendly washing https://zoorkitty.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/beauty-routine-and-the-environment/, but this one leaves a GREY hue behind. I can only imagine the colour on my fairer sisters.

You have to use a mild toner to completely get this off! Basically wash wash wash and then tone tone till cotton pad doesn’t have any grey residue left.

Out of this pile which ones will make the re-purchase list ? Not sure.

The Nuxe definitely.

The Origins Clear Improvement might get replaced with the GlamGlow or Omorovicza

I am not too chuffed with the Bliss so might check out Clarins to see if they have something. An anti-aging / hydrating mask is a must.

