ELF Liner Sealer v/s Makeup Forever Aqua Seal

2015-06-21 08.51.59
ELF Liner Sealer with Sealer Pot. Makeup for Ever Aqua Seal

I have oily lids and hooded eyes but I like eye liner pencils.  So this is what happens: On my upper lids it travels UP to my crease to leave a ‘cut-crease’ kind of line and on the lower lids it travels down to give me racoon eyes.

Try sealing it with a primer or powder, nothing works!

My only choice liquid liner, but pencils are so convenient! So my quest to SEAL that line has been going on for YEARS!

Till I stumbled upon the ELF Eye Primer Liner Sealer in Target.

The primer I am ho-hum about but the Liner sealer on the other end I LOVE.  It took me a while and few Youtube videos (praise and rants ) to figure out HOW to use it but I have tailored it for my needs.

The way you are supposed to use ELF Liner Sealer is, dip brush in Eye shadow powder and apply it to your eyes like a liner. And it doesn’t move. I have done that and it stays pretty good. But I think for an effect like that you might as well invest in a gel liner or use water.

But because I like the convenience of eye pencils this is how I use it.

Picture1

Apply eye liner pencil. Then lightly dab the sealer ON top of the line you have drawn. The sealer does burn a wee bit, so make sure you dont have excess sealing liquid on the brush. Dab along sides of the bottle of take off excess.

The brush is a stiff white brush. The instructions say “wipe brush off after use” I did, after I dabbed it into an eye shadow,but it stains anyway. Just so you know.

The Makeup Forever Aqua Seal I bought it in HK just to try something that I could buy in HK, instead relying on my trips to the US.

IMGP2393

I don’t like it ATALL ! At HKD 250 its bloody awful. Granted it’s rubbish for the way I want to use it, but we don’t get ELF in HK “so what do you want me to do Hong Kong?”

It’s a pain to use.

A pain get it onto the brush.

It doesn’t come with a small container or anything, so you have to scramble around for some thing to pour a drop onto. Then  it dispenses more than you wanted, so you waste it. It’s sticky and as you pour it out it dribbles, arrgh a MESS !

Anyway this Bobbi Brown brush is a liner brush that frayed on me in about 2 secs, so I use this one to play with the Aqua Seal. I hold brush tip to mouth of dropper and wet it.

I dabbed it onto my liner and look what happened. It smudged. It crept upto my hood. It then made the liner flake off.

Picture2
Top: Flaked off. Bottom: Smudged. Side: Transferred onto hood

Look the liner does stay put dont get me wrong. But the smudging of it initially and the transfer I do not like. But most of all what I don’t like is the inconvenience of the product.

Drips and dribbles as you pour and makes everything sticky.

ELF does its job and easy to use.

ELF you win.

