Facial Cleansers & Makeup Removers

Winners and Losers in my bathroom

Losers: SK-II Facial Treatment Gentle Cleanser, Estee Lauder Perfectly Clean Foam  (ok my fault it DID say FOAM) Cleanser, Clarins Pearl to Cream.

2015-06-23 19.12.32Foaming cleansers are terrible for your skin – dry, oily, dehydrated or combo/normal. That tight-post-wash skin, mistaken for ‘squeaky clean’, is what’s also bad. I don’t need to tell you, google it or read Caroline Hirons.  It really annoys me that HK shelves are full of foaming cleansers, basically laundry detergent, for the face.

Thank God for samples, so you don’t feel too bad when you try them once and then you open your front door and tell them to leave your home and never show their drying-foaming faces to you again !

Estee Lauder
Goodbye and never darken my door again!

Estee Lauder Perfectly Clean Foam was horrible, sucking every bit of hydration out of your face. NO! Go Away! I still gave it 2 gos, to be fair and then told it to ‘get (the f-) out’.

The SK-II was neither a Treatment nor Gentle. Load-a-crap. It is drying and has Sodium Lauryl listed the SECOND ingredient.  Might as well sell it in the dishwash section at the local Park n Shop!  (very angry face)

What disappointed me was Clarins. I like grandpa Clarins products.

I love the Clarins Brightening Toner after Sali Hughes (http://www.theguardian.com/fashion/series/sali-hughes-beauty) recommended it and I thought this cleanser would be the perfect partner for a clarifying clean.

But it FOAMS which I am not happy about and lists Sodium Sulphate , albeit low-ish  on the ingredient list.

But the Clarins Pearl to Cream Brightening Cleanser doesn’t have that harsh, soapy feeling and still rather soft as you massage your makeup off, has a lovely fragrance and doesn’t drip all over your face even when it foams up.

Rinsed off it didn’t leave my normal-dry skin with that skin-tightening dry feeling. The Clarins is still on my bathroom shelf.

Winners: Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil, Clinique Take the Day off Balm, Body Shop Nutriganics Softening Cleansing Gel.

2015-06-23 19.13.50Shu Uemura Oil is my star. It’s my first cleanse to remove make-up.

I absolutely love it. I have used the Neutrogena Cleansing Oil (the Blue one. The only one available in HK at that time) and didn’t quite enjoy it. On emulsifying it felt a bit harsh and also left a residue.

As I remove my makeup with the Shu I can give my face a good massage because it such a beautiful oil. It washes off without a residue.

The Clinique is also my first cleanse and does it’s job. And before my I bought my Shu, this one was my lush-full-of-motherly-love face massage cum clean balm. But now my Shu feels more lush.

You dont need both. A balm or an oil is perfect for your first cleanse to take make-up off.

On Caroline Hiron’s recommendation I bought the Body Shop Softening cleansing gel. This is my second cleanse, after removing my make-up.

I try and hit Body Shop whenever I can because of their ethics, but I must say they do have some duds that really PISS ME OFF. Bad performance or bad (Denatured Alcohol) ingredients.

I must say I am a bit confused about this one. If I apply this gel on a dry face it’s a bit difficult to move it around and since I don’t like yanking and rubbing my skin too hard I don’t feel satisfied because I cant do a quick massage.

And if the face is too damp then it emulsifies to a milk too soon and drips down and I feel like I didn’t give my face a good ole clean. Still trying to work out the perfect method.

The Nuxe one is a sample. It’s my second cleanse and for me it was meh!  Will use it but not really bother to re-purchase.

What I will purchase once the Clinique is over is the Body Shop Chamomile cleansing balm.

I think Balms and Oils are DEFINITELY my go to formulas for removing makeup.

Eyes and Lips: I bought this to figure out what the Hoo-Haa about Micellar water was.  The Garnier got good reviews and was way cheaper than the Bioderma, so I bought it.

2015-06-27 10.25.43

Verdict: I am not sure why it got good reviews ? I use it ONLY as my initial eye and lip makeup remover. The step before my First cleanse. Its not that great at removing eye liner or mascara, and I dont wear ANY waterproof eye makeup.

I will definitely not remove ALL my makeup with it. I tried it just because of all the good reviews on Makeup Alley, and it took loads and loads of this product to take my makeup and it still didn’t.

Basically you need atleast 1 min to really massage your foundation and sun block off!

I am just waiting to finish this and then I will buy my old stand by, the Body Shop Chamomile eye make-up remover.

 

 

