Getting Lippy: ELF v/s Body Shop lip scrub

2015-06-17 09.45.02
BODY SHOP LIP SCUFF V/S E.L.F EXFOLIATOR

ELF lip Exfoliator v/s Body Shop lip scuff

ELF wins, end of post.

As if.

Applying the ELF lip exfoliator on bottom lip. The top is the BODY SHOP lip scuff.mir_20150617_070227

The ELF is distinctly sugar based and you can see it applying more transparent. It is gritty and has more of an exfoliating action.

The Body Shop (top lip) is slightly minty, green and applies very thick. Thick as in trying to apply vaseline that you might have stored in the fridge (not that you would). There is barely any gritty/exfoliating action. The granules are almost too minimal.

mir_20150617_070328

But for the ELF Lip Exfoliator PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS! You must dampen your lips before applying.

If not, then like me and a lot of youtube reviewers you will get pissed off.

Also the ELF one is season-temperamental (made up this phrase.)

I live in HK. Summer temperature 33-38 degrees Centigrade, humidity can vary from 50% to around 85%. And my bathroom faces the mid-day sun right until sundown.

My exfoliator is in my bathroom in a dark box, but no denying it is a HOT bathroom.

So in a situation like this I dont need dampen my lips because you can tell the emollients in the exfoliator are already softened (as seen in the picture) and I apply a bit and then lightly rub my lips to together or lightly brush it with a toothbrush.

However when it is NOT this hot, winter and spring, you must dampen your lips slightly and then start to exfoliate. The product needs that slip.

If you dont it wont work.

Then wipe off with a wet cloth. You will feel your lips a bit ‘exfoliated’ so apply lip balm.

The Body Shop Lip Scuff is rubbish. It is hard and thick (lips damp or not) and with minimal granules that barely get any exfoliating done because of the thickness of the base and honestly there just aint enough of these little critters.

There are some reviews that will say ‘apply and then rub lips together’. Waste of time, really.

Vaseline and toothbrush is your better friend.

I use it because I bought it.

The Body Shop Lip conditioner of the other hand is divine. I like it almost as much as the Elizabeth Arden lip balm.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Getting Lippy: ELF v/s Body Shop lip scrub

  1. Funny because I saw this today and thought of getting one.. glad I didn’t! Thanks for this post! 👍🏻👍🏻

    1. Vaseline and old toothbrush. If you have a little more to spend then try Lush lip scrub. I wasn’t impressed with the Body Shop scuff LOL

    1. I use an electric toothbrush and honestly sometimes after my teeth I use it on my lips. Just enough to get the flakes off for a nice Matte lipstick. As for ELF. It is a brand that has really impressed me (wiping tear from eye). For the price they have some kick ass products. The ELF liner sealer I also love!

Comments are closed.