Shu Uemura Calligraphy Eyeliner Pen

UPDATED COMMENT: Do not store this Nib down it will leak/waste product. Store it lying down. Also this is the ONLY eyeliner pen I have used so far where I can line my lower lid!

temp

 

I am a liquid eyeliner pro. 20 years of liquid eyeliner. The bottle kind. Its because I have oily eyes and everything gives me racoon eyes except liquid

2015-06-14 11.18.23

 Over the years I grew bored of my Indian Lakme eye-liner and decided to graduate to eyeliner pens.

I went for the usual Maybelline and Loreal and they wobbled, skipped and dried up. The Pop beauty and E.L.F eyeliner pens were no better. I was irritated and didn’t want to spend another $ on a liquid pen.

I didn’t even trust the Japanese Dolly Wink and K-Palette 24 hour tattoo liners of the world.

And basically all over the internet the verdict was, pens will dry. And for me personally, more than drying, it was the wobbling and the skipping.

Till Mr. Shu came along with his  Calligraphy Pen. Shu Uemura ? ‘Ok’, I thought ‘one more try and if even the Shu Uemura doesn’t work out then I will give up on pens forever’.

Its not cheap. HKD 240 for the Pen + the re-fill cartridge. Its not a big cartridge, maybe little finger size ?

2015-06-14 11.16.57

The write-ups talk about how depending on the pressure the thickness of the line changes.

The secret- light, ‘nibby’ strokes. Especially on my crepey lids (not ‘creepy- rapists eyes’ as hubby will call them- he took that line from the Mighty Boosh. Silly silly British show).Shu Flick

The uneven lines is my first stroke- because of aging lids. But LOOK! I have never, repeat never in my life been able to do a flick, even the tiniest one and with the Shu I was BAAM! First try, done! I thought I was the Goddess of liners. Felt so powerful.

Zoor ShuThis is the dark brown. Yep didn’t look dark brown on my eye shadow. But when I applied without the shadow, it was very much brown.

Its waterproof and doesn’t budge. Even after a run in 30 degrees C , 77% humidity! Slight ‘flaking’ on my lids, thats it. (Phone camera in the elevator- sorry!)

temp

 

If this puppy doesn’t dry up on me then its a definite re-purchase. And with my current love for Shu I will gladly invest in the Japanese economy.

