The Internet Made Me Buy This

I spent my rent (or 1 Christian Loubotin)  on all this. Perfect husband squeaked when he heard the amount.

image

But  you know I dont feel guilty.  I have lived on this earth for more than 35 years (not revealing real age here for reasons of Vanity) without using a Toner. I rarely used a facemask. Heck first 21 years of my life I didnt even use a facewash and I lived in Bombay, Mumbai!.

I grew up with Ma slathering me in milk cream, skimmed off the top of the milk as we boiled it, or glycerin (before my bath) and later through high school and college years, a weekly face mask of garbanzo bean flour (besan) mixed with water and a pinch of tumeric. I am blessed with good skin. No breakouts or skin blemishes. Even toned, normal skin. But that was Youth.

Now its time to keep the sagging and drooping at bay. Listening to various beauty vloggers, especially Sali Hughes (beauty editor The Guardian) and the great Caroline Hirons I decided its time to invest and try to keep some signs of ageing at bay. Or rather de-accelarate it. Drooping eye lids, expanding pores and general loss of elasticity and moisture.

Time to invest in the good stuff.

Mercifully a lot of Caroline’s eye wateringly expensive recommendations are not so easily available in HK so I did a mix of Sali and Caroline’s recommendations.

Sali’s – Clarin’s Brightening Toner. (Caroline recommends an acid toning and none of that rubbish rough beaded traditional scrub) Holy f**k this really works. Literally overnight I was glowing. Yes it has alcohol but minimal enough to even make it to Caroline’s top ten.

Caroline’s – Pericone MD Eye Serum. Look I dont know. I have annoyingly crepey eye lids, where liqiud liner jumps and leaps and wobbles. Lately it seemed to have minimised. Is it working ? Is it a placebo effect ? (Zelens is everyone’s number 1 though)

Caroline’s- I have been using Clinique’s Turnaround Serum for almost 20 odd years, but I kind of felt like my skin needed a boost and I bought the Clinique Smart Serum. So the days I exfoliate/acid tone I will use the Smart Serum and not the Turnaround.

Caroline recommends doing a double cleanse, especially at night. And I didnt know I was double cleansing even before I read Caroline’s more structured approach. This is beacause I detest makeup wipes/ cotton balls because its environmentally horrendous. So I will always cleanse with a cleansing oil or cleansing milk. And because I could feel a residue I always did another cleanse with a soap – Clinique Mild Soap / Body Shop Vit E facial soap.

I love the Take the Day off range and this balm feels like your mother is patting your face saying “I love you, you are so beautiful”. I have a feeling all balms will feel like this.  So I do my first cleanse with this now to take off all makeup and follow it the Body Shop cleansing gel (non- foaming. I hate foaming and so does Caroline, yaay) Caroline actually loves Emma Hardie balm but I haven’t seen it in HK so far.

The Bobbi Brown Extra repair moisturiser is a result of my skin turning up its nose at my cheap drugstore cream. I was using Estee Lauder’s ANR serum, but the moisturiser over it was your everyday, cheap Olay cream. And my skin would turn its nose up at it. I cant explain. It didnt breakout of anything, but I could feel my body turning away from it.

So I needed an excuse to spend on a pampering moisturiser and thankfully Caroline explained why Mineral oil is ineffective for skincare (see the Pixiwood video where she is being interviewed). So now I had a valid reason to spend ! On a non mineral oil, effective moisturier. And because I love Bobbi Brown’s skincare range, on my OWN recommendation, I bought the Extra Repair.

For my skin, its heavy. Plus I live in super humid Hong Kong- so this is a nightime ONLY cream for me. Oh how I love its soft caress. The Illuminating Balm I bought, just because. The rest are just …. Tom Ford is ALL the rage, so I had to have his perfume. I didnt possess an effective Clay Mask ( am still not convinced about Glam Glow or Omorovicza) so bought the Origins one and picked the Aveda stuff for fun. I am enjoying my routine, dont regret my purchase and will post a review after a few months.

