Coconut Flour Pancakes or Weird Sh*t I Eat

I have been on a diet since I can remember. Or rather trying to be on one.  I have always restricted one food item or the other. And that lasts around 2 weeks at the most.

However I have never ever considered the Atkins, Dukan or South Bean diet. I cant be on a meat heavy diet regime.

I am a ‘ho um’ meat eater. Meaning I will eat meat and fish but prefer vegetarian . Basically a honey glazed pork, a beef rendang is as attractive to me as a fresh salad or vegetable curry with dal.

Throw Indian snacks (almost always vegetarian) food into the mix like bhel-puri, sev puri, dahi puri, aloo poha, uppama and I can forget about every other cuisine and food group known to man. Indian snack foods are my secret weakness.

http://savithakitchen.blogspot.hk/2011/03/bhel-puri-day-1-of-blogging-marathon.html
http://savithakitchen.blogspot.hk/2011/03/bhel-puri-day-1-of-blogging-marathon.html
http://cookforsure.blogspot.hk/2013/07/aloo-poha.html
http://cookforsure.blogspot.hk/2013/07/aloo-poha.html

Coming back to ‘diet’, I should clarify the word ‘diet’.

It’s more a ‘I jump on every health food bandwagon that comes out every year’. Quit sugar, quit salt, quit yeast, quit wheat, quit soy, quit dairy, quit cornstarch, quit lecithin and whatever else gets thrown at me that year.

However after jumping on the ‘quit yeast’ diet on behest of a friend, I found my 10 year skin rash disappear.

This was the longest ‘diet-lifestyle’ I was on, 2 months, and the change I saw was God send.  Years of testing and of prescribed and over-the-counter anti-fungal and dermatitis medication had done nothing for this rash. And 2 weeks of gluten free did the job.

I then started to get off wheat, on and off. The skin rash would show up, on and off.

When visiting my sister’s gluten-free, refined-sugar free home for 2 weeks, I was bloat and rash free. I felt awesome.

So right now I am hoping to take this wheat-free life style more seriously and making it a life long commitment. (http://www.wheatbelly.com/)

In HK its not easy to be gluten-free. It’s very hard. Its a constant struggle of self control and will power.  Even grocery shopping to cook from scratch is hard.

But perseverance and health (and meal planning) will pay off.

This morning I wanted a  wheat-bready-comfort feeling. Pancakes hits the spot, so it would have to be Coconut Flour pancakes!

20140510-133447.jpg

Original recipe on http://blog.paleohacks.com/coconut-flour-pancakes/  but I adjusted mine to what I had at home

So here it is – in BOLD are the changes I made against the original recipe.

3/4 cup coconut flour- Bobs Red Mill

1/3 cup of water (I added more when the mixture got gloopy and doughy)

2 eggs

1 tbsp of olive oil

pinch of salt

a ‘pinch and a half’ of baking soda

1/2 of 1/2 tsp of Vanilla essence

Did not use Honey

20140510-133503.jpg

USe a whisk, but  do a up and down motion with it to break the lumps, rather than WHISK or STIR. Apparently excess stirring would make the pancakes flat.

20140510-133520.jpg

Heat non stick pan, little oil and fry like you would any pancake.
20140510-133536.jpg
But here’s where things got really weird.
I said I didnt add honey and am not a “sweet” breakfast person and not overtly fond of eggs. So what do I do ?
I added fresh chilli sauce to my pancake and really enjoyed it !
20140510-133549.jpgI ate 2 pancakes with chilli sauce and 2 more with pure peanut butter ie no salt or sugar added.

I felt great !

 

3 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Pancakes or Weird Sh*t I Eat

Comments are closed.