My Pet Peeve…. (or Packing)

My pet peeve is PACKING. Other people’s lack of organisation that is !

People will ask “Why does it bother you so much ?” “how does it affect you ?” “its their life!”

Ya Ya I know all that, but that’s what a Peeve is. An irritant that is illogical.

Mine is when people tell me, or even if I over hear it : “I am leaving tonight….(or tomorrow)  and I haven’t packed

It’s rarely a ‘HAHAHAHA I haven’t packed and I dont give a s***’. It usually said with either mild panic in the tone or worse, a half-apologetic tone.

WHY ??? why haven’t you packed ? Was it a surprise trip ?  A sudden business trip ? An emergency ?

Other than that, its sheer incompetence.

Especially if it’s a holiday, You planned it you so you would know your dates, so why this last minute non-packing situation ? Also you didn’t have to come out drinking/to the movies/gym 12 hours before your flight ? Stay home and pack.

I used to pack 2 weeks in advance.

Lists made, calenders referred to, outfits and dates matched, underwear for each day then multiplied by 2, flight clothes IN and flight clothes OUT, call Hotels/host to check for hair dryers, if I am planning to meet other human beings then I usually take my Flat Iron, 3-4 shoes max.

I admit 2 weeks in advance is inefficient. Because I would usually spend the night before pulling everything out because I have forgotten what I put inside. So now I do it a weekend before and am most definitely, and efficiently,packed, 24 hours before my flight.

Last things in are phone chargers and toiletries.

Packing stresses me out. I don’t over-pack, prefer not to have carry on baggage and hate a heavy suitcase.

So I spend days, re-calibrating my packing decisions.

Items that can double up, economising on shoes, evaluating the kind of people I am going to meet. If I don’t know them I don’t pack my flat iron or hair dryer. They can see my Ronald McDonald frizzy hair I dont care !

Permutation & Combinations of thoughts and what-ifs. What if I get my period ? what if it hurts ? what if its very painful ?

Work -Holidays are bad.  Work clothes, work shoes, weekend clothes, weekend shoes. Work makeup. Weekend look. I need them ALL right till the last min.

But packing for Cold places is the WORST. I can never decided HOW many warm clothes will be enough ! What if I am colder than this ? what is my toes are cold ? what if the outside is really cold but the inside is really warm ? Are the evenings chilly or cold ? how many layers below my woollen coat ?

Loads of meltdowns later, I am packed.

If I can do it, surely you can ? You, who are so carefree and angst free. Pack in time and save me this one less stress of getting peeved.

One thought on “My Pet Peeve…. (or Packing)

Comments are closed.