Oh Dior Oh Dior

IMGP2297I have struggled long over this post. Should I write it. Is it really definitive in the way I feel

I don’t want this to come across like I have tried every brand on earth OR even every Dior product and compared it with the rest. Often my makeup reviews are based on my mood for that day. Some days I am more forgiving to a product, others not.

IMGP2229

Often it could merely be the fact I am applying my makeup with a normal mirror as opposed to a x5 maginified one.

Normal mirror hides flaws so  face and makeup seem more acceptable.

Sometimes it could just be I have made peace with a product and accepted it for what it is and how it applies.

So….anyway,…. Dior.

French brands are often hit and miss with Indian skintones so I am not mad on them.

But killing time in DutyFree at the airports, with what appears, at that time, to be ‘funny money’, is when my impulse makeup purchase happens.

That’s when Dior happens. And Dior has managed not to piss me off so far. You know I love and adore their glosses the best. Non sticky shimmer little sticks.

IMGP2049

The latest was this little travel kit.

Long haul to LAX. Bored. So why not shop !

I didn’t open this pack up for ages. And when I finally did I must say I wasn’t disappointed.

It also gave me a good sampling of 2 Dior product lines I have not purchased before ie Mascara and Eye Shadow.

A nifty little kit for quick touch-ups or even a makeup pick-me-up. Good for a casual after-work-drink-thingy ?

The Dior Iconic mascara applies  natural, thick and no clumping. Dare I say it. DARE I SAY IT…. yes.  I prefer it to Chanel’s De Volume. The black eye liner doesn’t run. The shadows are gorgeous shimmers and subtle at the same time.

The lip plumper has a faint tingly sensation and the 2 gloss are a bit too subtle in the pigment department for me. They might be tinted lip balms come to think of it. Or maybe its my pigmented lips. Will give them another chance applied over my lip concealer and see if they show up more.

The Under eye concealer is NOT my colour I assure you. Its LIGHT beige but when applied under my eyes, under my concealer it gives a stunning brightness. It makes me want to look at myself in every reflective surface.

I have a party tonight so will definitely be using this under my eyes.

It applies a bit white initially for NC40 tone, but blend well. I also use it as a lovely non shimmery highlighter on my cheeks and under brow bone. It’s a matte finish but without the DRYING MATTE look, if you know what I mean.

I will see how I go with this travel kit and might even  buy a full size of this AntiCernes Beige Clair if it continues to give me this effect.

It also has foundation powder. Probably good for that skintone I dont know. Also I am not the powder matte finish girl so I haven’t tried it. It has a lovely texture though. Nice buttery powder.

It has a nice brown brow pencil but I haven’t used it as yet because I don’t do my brows.

What I dislike in this kit and as a Dior product, is the blush.

I know this kit is not for my skin-tone but how subtle does a Blush need to be ??? I can NOT see it.

Maybe it gives a subtle glow, a subtle shimmer? I can see shimmer specks so there must be some shimmer, somewhere….but….where ? I am tempted to put this down to poor pigmentation as opposed to not working for my skin tone. I honestly doubt that.

This kit comes with a few brushes and a sponge. Take the blush brush and the eye-shadow applicator sponge and throw them both in the BIN. Or use it to scrub your pots and pans.

The sponge might be handy but I haven’t used it.

Like I said this kit gave me a chance to sample some more Dior and the mascara and eye-shadows have impressed me.

I already prefer my Dior perfumes over my Chanel No 5.

I already prefer Dior’s lipstick over my Chanel, and I now prefer Dior’s eye pencil over the Chanel Khol

I am not ready as yet to knock Chanel off the numero uno mascara position so lets wait and see.

2 thoughts on “Oh Dior Oh Dior

Comments are closed.