Brands that make me kiss myself.


I have days when a certain product or application really makes me love my face. Modest I know !

I keep looking at myself on every shiny surface and will often say, out loud, “Oh <name of product> I love you”

We all have skincare that we are brand loyal to. Skincare is personal and one should ideally stick to the brand that works for your skin.

But in beauty we tend to be fickle. We pick up lip plumping formulas, hoping from brand to brand. We dabble in numerous mascaras. Lipsticks and nail polish brands ? dont even get me started !

2013-08-17 16.34.25 Makeup stores stocked like a confectionery’s,  force us to sample and graze through brands.

All lit up, with nail polishes and mini perfumes gift wrapped like individual petit fours. Hubby calls it candy shop for grown women. Atleast for me. I gravitate towards this lovely Pink Shiny Twinkling store where I can spend hours browsing, even if I don’t buy a thing.

I have seen men in here, lost for what looks like days, with glazed eyes, silently crying for help.

Inspite of their hypnotic effect I manage to stay brand loving ( I wouldn’t use the word Loyal because I in all fairness I probably am not ).

Basically If I want to buy something these are the brands I go to first. I am more willing to take product risks with them than with anyone else. I am more willing to make excuses for their duds and think its me rather than its them.

My beauty booty call cheat sheet :

  1. MAC
  2. Bobbi Brown
  3. Benefit
  4. Chanel
  5. Dior

MAC:  The James Dean of makeup.  The rockstar with its groupies. The one you excuse even when they come out with Duds. As an Indian woman MAC gets my respect right off the bat. Just for the simple fact that amongst  the  mainstream brands they catered to our skintones and darker. There are shades, and then some.

The Mac products that make me want to kiss myself: STROBE CREAM (Angels playing harps), the (discontinued?) tinted lip balm, Pro Conceal and Corrector Palette, Face and Body foundation.

Bobbi Brown: aaah Bobbi. The Grande dame of makeup. Her persona makes me feel like I can trust her. She is my friend, philosopher and guide in the makeup world. She stands for all things woman. Phenomenal Woman (Maya Angelou)

I don’t know own many Bobbis and have on occasion wanted to fling a BB product out the window but her BB cream is really good and her under Eye brightener makes me feel happy. Once I am out of concealer I will buy Bobbi’s concealer-corrector set, ofcourse ! I am more open to taking a risk with her than say Giorgio Armani

Benefit: often more hype than substance. They want to be too cool for school but sometimes fail to deliver. But they are on my on my booty call beauty cheat sheet for some of their hits: Benetint Cheek Stain, PoreFessional, Hello Flawless in Beige ( this really makes me want to kiss myself ).

Cha Cha tint would honestly be a contender for Angels playing Harps but the application is soooo damned hard !

Chanel & Dior: I tend to ignore French brands because they are SO damned late into the ‘women of colour’ makeup trend. Their pinkish/beige undertones make me stay clear off them. But in some departments these two rock my world

Chanel  Mascaras- that’s it. My last word, nothing more to be said.

People love their Chanel lipsticks but frankly I cant be bothered with lipsticks that dont last.The Chanel lipstick I received as a gift I use as a cream blush. lovely out-of-focus glow

Dior: I love their glosses. The best shiny non sticky gloss. Better than Bobbi. But something that has really made me stare at myself incessantly in the mirror is their surprise concealer !

I am NC 40 I am medium-deep in most makeup categories I am NOT by any stretch a Dior 01 Beige Clair ( Light beige  !). In my Dior Colour Design travel palette is the Anticerne Beige Clair concealer.

FC425_800x600_l

I used it for a lark thjis weekend. And my o my. It adds a luminosity under the eye that works beautifully. I HAVE to say it does apply Ashy/white initially but blend it well with your correct concealer and your under eye glows.

Don’t run out and buy it already it could just be me and my undertone. This morning I mixed it with my Benefit Boing concealer (ugh I really dont like this Boing atall) and it added a luminosity that makes my look awake. I even recd compliments.

Dab the Anticerne down a bit on your cheek bone and its works adds ‘lightness’ there too.

I am lovin’ it !

Worthy mentions before I end -Old faithful Maybelline and Estee Lauder

